DelphiFAQ Home Search:

Dating scammer Edward Smith

 

comments4 comments. Current rating: 4 stars (1 votes). Leave comments and/ or rate it.

Name: Edward Smith


Email: calmwaters222@gmail.com


Address:
147/8 troas crescent, off Lokko Road Osu, Accra Ghana 23321. C/O Godred Brown


Other Comments:
We met on EHarmony, I'd never used a dating site before - he's my first. He said he lived in Washington DC, then later he actually lives in CT but was here on work. He is a Civil Engineer. We did not meet because he had to work on a job in Florida, then his mother (she's British, he's still holding a passport for Norway) fell very ill so he had to leave and go to her side. His father died in Norway when he was 16 in an accident, so it's just he and his mother. He was in London for 6 days. From there is where I received two pictures and a phone number to call him. I checked the country code and it was correct. He then had to go to work in Accra Ghana for 3 weeks. As soon as he arrived, his luggage was lost and he needed a laptop. Yes, I am stupid, I sent him a laptop and I am out $1,300.00. He said he couldn't do his work and that his laptop and luggage has still not arrived.

Then he started talking about investing some money in houses, he did not ask me for any but he was hinting. Then he said he wanted to come and stay with me for up to 10 days, I said that's fine, but you'll have to get a hotel because you can't stay with me. He fell offline that night, the next day he said he was running out of money and could he have $500 to $600. I told him that I did not have it. Now the phone calls are once a day and I haven't taken any of them. However, I'm interested now to see what he says so I did call him back this morning.

Bottom line is that I don't even think the pictures are of him. His english is not that great either and neither are his writing skills.

I checked in google to see if I could find anything on his email address - nothing. I then sent an email to EHarmony to remove him.


Comments:

2008-05-19, 00:22:06   (updated: )
[hidden] from United States  


Keywords:

2008-05-19, 00:22:06   (updated: )
[hidden] from United States  


Keywords:

2008-05-20, 16:12:14
anonymous from United States  
Hi, I have a few typographical errors. The name is actual 'Godfried', not 'Godfred'. Also, he holds a Norwegian passport while his mother holds a British on.

Thank you.
2008-05-24, 04:57:13
anonymous from United States  
rating
I think there may be some confusion. Eddie did not write this up, I wrote it up on EDDIE!!!!! He scammed me. I'm sorry if I entered it incorrectly, but it needs to be corrected immediately. I do not want my email on the site, but you're welcome to use valady as my name.

Again, I apologize. Also, I have now received a call from someone else in Accra, Ghana asking me to call him. It's not going to happen!!!

I am a white female, Eddie is supposed to be a white male according to the EHarmony web site. EHarmony has since removed him from their website.

Thanks,
VALADY

 

 

Are you being scammed and this is your first visit here?
Read the welcome page/ primer for newbies.

Thanks to Eddie for writing it up.

Email address (not necessary):

Rate as
Hide my email when showing my comment.
Please notify me once a day about new comments on this topic.
Please provide a valid email address if you select this option.
 
It seems that you are
from Washington, US .

Info/ Feedback on this

Show city and country
Show country only
Hide my location
Leave your comment here:
Please type in the code:
photo Add a picture:

Please do not post inappropriate pictures. Inappropriate pictures include pictures of minors and nudity. The owner of this web site reserves the right to delete such material.

Picture Search

You have received photos and wonder if these photos has been posted here before? Because you suspect this could be a dating scammer, but you do not want to post this picture? Try the Picture Search