DelphiFAQ Home Search:

CareerBuilder Job Scam - payment processing

 

comments321 comments. Current rating: 4 stars (117 votes). Leave comments and/ or rate it.

The following is in reference to CareerBuilder.com, an online jobs board, headquartered in Chicago, Illinois.

CareerBuilder Job Scam

I posted my resume on www.careerbuilder.com; I was solicited by a potential employer affiliated with CareerBuilder, Niamax Limited. The email was sent on CareerBuilder letterhead, as are many emails I receive from the CareerBuilder site. The soliciting company's website is www.niamax-ltd.com; this company is listed as doing business in the United Kingdom.

After expressing my interest with their company, I was emailed a legal document (employment contract) to email or fax back to them. The employer then conducted a preliminary "background check" on me and offered me a job. I agreed to work part-time for them as an independent contractor, processing payments from their customers in the United States. I was instructed that I needed to process these payments through Wells Fargo Bank, and would need to obtain a Wells Fargo Bank account if I currently didn't own one.

I accepted two payments (online transfers) into my Wells Fargo Bank account from two other Wells Fargo Bank customers that were supposedly Niamax customers. I was instructed to send the bulk of each payment to a specified business associate, after subtracting my 6% commission, and the Western Union transfer fee. I sent both payments to business associates in Athens, Greece by Western Union; both payments were picked up same day. One man's name was Cornet Deglos, the other was Cleys Mercken.

Wells Fargo Bank has now reversed the initial online customer transfers into my account, stating the transactions were unauthorized (hacked from the accounts of other Wells Fargo Bank customers). I am now responsible for the gross amount ($1977.30) of both unauthorized transactions into my account because I withdrew the money and sent it on, as instructed by my employer, Niamax Limited.

Wells Fargo Bank is not interested in discussing the fact that their system was breached by a hacker, or the fact that I only processed the payments. I asked Wells Fargo Bank why holds were not placed on these online transfers into a NEW account, but they gave no answers, and didn't provide me with an explanation.

Additionally, I notified CareerBuilder's Integrity Team regarding their affiliation with this employer. The representative stated CareerBuilder can't screen all employers utilizing their website, and that I should have read their fraud disclaimer, which is obscurely located in fine print on their website.



Comments:

You are on page 22 of 22, other pages: 1 2 3 19 20 21 [22]
2009-10-17, 15:17:11
sharky from Belgium  
Position of Regional Agent that was a complete scam,they offer you a job,the making up of this letter was not well done,you can read that they are amateurs,who are these people the maffia and india has many frauduleus callcenters ,be careful anonymous from the US with the scammers on the worldwidenet.
2009-10-18, 03:40:18
[hidden] from India  
rating
I also received emails from COSTAIN TAYLOR WOODROW(CTW) AND ITS JOINT VENTURES , same offer, same details. Thanks guys for your comments posted here about them, not that I was planning to buy it but at least now I won't waste my time anymore thinking about it!

COSTAIN TAYLOR WOODROW(CTW) AND ITS JOINT VENTURES - Shame on You, Frauds!!!!! u deserve hell only!!!!!!!!!! god will punish u for this u all fuckers....
2009-10-27, 18:37:12   (updated: 2009-10-27, 18:40:17)
anonymous from United States  
I got this one today:
I meet the girl in a social network, she was telling me that she loves me, and that she want to meet me. to good to be truth, so i just keep playing the game. first she told me she didn't have any money, not even for food, so she told me to send her $500 or $300 via Western Union. to her hotel in Nigeria (she is on vacation in Nigeria). I told her that I didn't want to send any money.
so after all that. she send me this:


your duties are to receive western union transactions from the company's client,deduct 15% commission and send rest funds via money gram to the company's branch, Also sending of payments such as checks and money orders to the company's clients those are your duties.

this is her boss's email: nicholasparker04@gmail.com
2009-10-30, 08:36:07
anonymous from United States  
OMG! Yes. Careerbuilder has, like so many other employment sites, apparently no control over who uses their site for such scams. Perhaps even the domain has been lifted by several. I see little point in blanking out the name of the following individual because no doubt it is as phony as the email. I set up a reply to it to view the possible recipient of the email. I saw that the reply address turned into a domain called medtechaccounts@bestjobcandidate.com. That's when it was absolutely confirmed to be a scam. Of course one would presume if it came from careerbuilder that maybe it was legit but it still seemed too good to be true. There are NO real work at home jobs just scams. That's because all of us would be susceptible to the lure of staying at home. performing job tasks in our comfortable chairs, not having to travel and deal with the rest of our festering humanity and getting paid for it.

Here's the mail I got.


Dear Candidate,


After viewing your resume on careerbuilder.com, we have decided to contact you regarding an offer. We have an exciting opportunity with our company for: Accounts Payable Manager/Payments Processor in your area with no need of relocation.



New concept: Commissions without sales!!



Job Type:



· Accounting - Finance

· Admin - Clerical

· Customer Service





Requirements:



· Must have Microsoft Office Intermediate experience, checking emails 3 times/day

· US citizen or permanent residence/green card holder

· Desired Education Level: High School

· Experience: N/A

· Required Travel: NO

· Relocation: NO



Benefits:



· Attractive bonuses and commissions with each order

· No contact with our clients



Salary and commissions:



· Compensation: $85,000 - $95,000 per year

· Employee Type: Full-Time/Part-Time Employee





Please let me know if you are interested.

Hiring Department

Considering the generic quality of the above mail it immediately drew my suspicions up. Are these people stupid or do they believe we are stupid. I think some of us are and some of them are.


2009-11-05, 11:49:30
anonymous from North Platte, United States  
I was scamed by a e mail. I was to send money transfers all over the world. for a 8% for every transfers that i make. they got my information off Career builder.com
2009-11-07, 00:45:45
anonymous from United States  
so what if i dont have a bank account what if i just used a cashland or checkssmart to cash the check lol
You are on page 22 of 22, other pages: 1 2 3 19 20 21 [22]

 

 

NEW: Optional: Register   Login
Email address (not necessary):

Rate as
Hide my email when showing my comment.
Please notify me once a day about new comments on this topic.
Please provide a valid email address if you select this option, or post under a registered account.
 

Show city and country
Show country only
Hide my location
You can mark text as 'quoted' by putting [quote] .. [/quote] around it.
Please type in the code:
photo Add a picture:

Please do not post inappropriate pictures. Inappropriate pictures include pictures of minors and nudity. The owner of this web site reserves the right to delete such material.